Here…For Your Entertainment


Specifically Train Entertainment!

I’m the first to admit that I usually turn my earphones up – really loud – and of course, avert thine eyes!

But. This morning. Probably one of the most entertaining journeys on the London Underground in the past 8 years. We pulled into Caledonian Road Station and as the doors were about to close, a man jumps onto the train and stands right next to me. I know instantly that he is about to break out into song. Great right!? Just my luck!! So of course, I do the London Underground thing and stick my nose further into my Metro paper.

Completely out of breath – Him not Me – probably from running from carriage to carriage, he begins to sing. Pretty normal right? I agree. But then. he breaks out his secret weapon. Tap shoes! I’m not kidding! Okay, well they sounded like tap shoes.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. He’s out of breath. He’s singing. AND he’s tap dancing! Some of you may have removed yourself from the train at the next available opportunity. (It was a fleeting thought in my mind too). But. His performance was worthy of Lord of the Dance (not Rings – that wouldn’t make sense). I’m not kidding! Michael Flatley would have been proud!

It was irrelevant that he thought we would all be wiped off the earth within 20 years. And that he thought we were all gatekeepers to this world (yes … YOU too) … and Sir – you incorporated both those facts into your song very well.

Bottom line. You were great! And gave me a happy start to the week. I especially loved the Michael Jackson ending. You were most entertaining.

And to the guy who was standing opposite me, chatting football teams with your friend. You know who you are. We shared a smile at the entertainment —- Same Place Same Time tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

